WRITING TO MARKET By S.C. Wynne

BelievingRory_FBprofile_OptizimedForFeedI was thinking about how sometimes, as an author, I feel pressured into writing to what I think is commercial rather than what I would want to write about. But it occurred to me that isn’t why I write. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy the lighter stories. I enjoy every story I write or I wouldn’t write it. But I do seem to be occasionally drawn to darker subjects. (Believing Rory and Painful Lessons would be examples of that) Or maybe just writing a story that isn’t dark, so much as it deals with dark subjects like stalking, death or subjects such as those. After all, I’m writing romance.

So I guess my question is; do you not buy books if they have any kind of serious subject? Do books that touch on the subject of death or grief turn you off? I don’t like movies or books that end sad, but I can handle anything if the book or movie ends happy. Are you like me, or do you veer away from anything that isn’t super cheerful and fluffy?

Go ahead and leave a response in the comment section along with your email address and I’ll pick two winners to receive an e-book of choice! I’m excited to hear what you have to say. Should authors just write to market or can you handle romance books that aren’t always light and fluffy, so long as they ultimately end happy?

S.C.

www.sc-wynne.com

PainfulLessonsFS

 

8 thoughts on “WRITING TO MARKET By S.C. Wynne

  1. Hi 🙂
    I love darkest story…. that’s also a little bit why I so like MM romance, usually they are always some drama… I like both style, sometimes I just want something light and funny, but usually I prefer something more intense, darker, that make me cry, make me shiver.. those kind of story make me feels much more that funny and fluffy… I read some books (in the company of shadows) which are intense and sometimes dark… I was stuck in this story days after I finished the books and that what I love in reading. So for me without hesitation, darker story with an happy ending :)I will check both books in amazon, not sure I read them 😉
    Thanks for asking 🙂

    • Hey, Sarah,
      I love a story that sticks with me for days! I’ve never heard of that book you referenced. Can’t find it on Amazon even, but it sounds good. 🙂
      Thank you for commenting!

      • You can upload them (they are 4 books) for free on this internet site:
        http://www.inthecompanyofshadows.com/#
        I just bought your 2 references, will read them asap 🙂 thanks for making our emotions vibrate (not sure you say that in English,.. I tried to make some “franglish”, use some French idioms and translate them ;))

  2. I’m more like you are. I can handle death, grief and other angst stuff without any problem, because if I read romance, I know that in the end, the characters will be happy. I think that I like this kind of story the most. Sometimes I need some light story, but the hards one are my favourite. So, I can’t wait to read “Believing Rory”. My email address is francescagiraudo78@gmail.com

    • Hi, Francesca! Trusting that the romance author realizes you should never kill off the MC’s is big. lol And I agree, sometimes I just need a light read where I can just feel good along with the characters. Thank you for commenting!

  3. I love a read with darker ‘subject’ matter. To be hit in the feels so hard, or to be an emotional train wreck while reading and routing the guys on…. So good!!
    Even if it’s something I wouldn’t normally read, I think an author should write what they want to write about. What the characters are telling them to do/say. 💙

  4. I don’t mind if a story is dark or light, angsty or funny; my only requirements are that the characters have a believable growth arch, and an emotionally satisfying ending (HEA/HFN). That’s not too much to ask, right? Oh, and that a book has gone through a round of proofreading & edits – there are few things that make me stop reading than a ton of spelling mistakes/grammar issues. But that’s neither here nor there 😉

    PS: you mentioned a giveaway, but you didn’t post a deadline, nor announced a winner. Is it still open, or did you just forget? I realize it’s awfully presumptuous to hope it would still be open 3 months later, so… I’ll just leave it at that.

Leave a Reply

